Songsters of Spring

April 18, 2022 

    Over the years, bird watchers and bird  photographers learn to identify many birds by their songs and calls. When I hear a song or call I have never heard before, I will try to locate the bird if possible in the hopes of seeing a new bird. Here are some of the birds I have photographed this month. Their songs are often quite beautiful, and sometimes startling. The recordings are all taken from the site, Bird Research Sound Collection of Japan.

https://www.bird-research.jp/1_shiryo/koe-e.html

 

Brambling Call (Dominique Guillerme)

Chinese Bamboo Partridge (Zhou Zhe)

Japanese Tit (M. Ueta)

Japanese Pygmy Woodpecker (M. Ueta)

Warbling white-eye (M. Ueta)

Narcissus Flycatcher (M. Ueta)

Long-tailed Tit (K. Kajimoto)

Red-billed Leiothrix (K. Kajimoto)

 

3 thoughts on “Songsters of Spring”

  1. The Chinese Bamboo Partridge reminded me of the Whip poor will.

    Exotic looking bird – the
    Red-billed Leiothrix.

    Great photos!

    Like

    1. The Chinese Bamboo Partridge sounds like it is saying, “Look at me! Look at me!” over and over.
      Exotic is right. It also means an invasive or nonnative species. Perhaps you have seen the Red-billed Leiothrix in Hawaii?

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.